BOARD WRAPUP GOOSE CREEK CONSOLIDATED INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT

REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES - July 10, 2023

OPENING EXERCISES

• The prayer was led by **Trustee Mercedes Renteria III**. The pledges to the American flag and Texas flag were led by **Trustee Jesse Martinez**.

CITIZENS PARTICIPATION

One citizen spoke on Board agenda transparency.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

• June 26, 2023, 2023 Regular Board Meeting

SUPERINTENDENT'S REPORTS

- Benefits Update 2023-2024
- Teacher Incentive Allotment
- Graduation Update

ACTION ITEMS

- Reorganization of the Board of Trustees (Officers to remain the same for the 2023-2024 school year)
- Waiver request from the Texas Virtual School Network Course Review Process
- Second option to extend RFP for plumbing contractor services on an indefinite delivery, indefinite quantity (IDIQ) basis
- Second option to extend RFP for solid waste management services
- Award of RFP for student athletic insurance
- Second option to extend CSP for technology equipment, supplies, and related services
- TASB Localized Policy Manual Update 120
- Superintendent's Expenditures



BOARD WRAPUP

PERSONNEL ACTION ITEMS

- Approved elections of Micah Arabie, nurse, assigned to POINT Alternative Center; Seth Barrios, teacher, assigned to Goose Creek Memorial High School; Treasa Barta, teacher, assigned to Baňuelos Elementary School; Trystn Cardenas, teacher, assigned to Highlands Junior School; Alexander Contreras, teacher, assigned to Robert E. Lee High School; Mandi Corbin, teacher, assigned to E. F. Green Junior School; Rosalinda DeLaFuente, teacher, assigned to Jessie Lee Pumphrey Elementary; Teri Dunn, teacher, assigned to Baňuelos Elementary School; Teresa Harries, teacher, assigned to Hopper Primary School; Debra Ibarra, teacher, assigned to Highlands Junior; Carrie Istre, teacher, assigned to Special Education; Michael Johns, teacher, assigned to Ross S. Sterling High School; Haley Johnston, teacher, assigned to Victoria Walker Elementary School; Gabrielle Lavine, teacher, assigned to Baytown Junior School; Perla Leal, teacher, assigned to San Jacinto Elementary School; Brittany Mancias, teacher, assigned to Clark Elementary School; Rosa Melendez, nurse, assigned to Highlands Elementary School; Carole Montemayor, teacher, assigned to Cedar Bayou Junior School; April Page, teacher, assigned to Alamo Elementary School; Sandra Piper Jackson, teacher, assigned to Highlands Elementary School. Kristin Reuter, teacher, assigned to Curriculum & Instruction; Demond Roberston, teacher, assigned to Baytown Junior School; Joshua Sifuentes, teacher, assigned to Baytown Junior School; Latishe Thomas, teacher, assigned to Bowie Elementary School; Jennifer Thorne, teacher, assigned to Curriculum & Instruction; Carmen Torres, teacher, assigned to San Jacinto Elementary School; Lakeisha Walker, teacher, assigned to Victoria Walker Elementary School and Yolanda Walker, teacher, assigned to Highlands Elementary School.
- Approved resignations of Jessica Batura. ELA/social studies teacher at Alamo Elementary School; Lisa Bell, counselor at Alamo Elementary School; Jacob Berg, mathematics teacher at Robert E. Lee High School; Deanna Braghini, bilingual educational diagnostician; Kristyn Cathey, director of communications; Courtney Clanton, special education - resource/inclusion teacher at George H. Gentry Junior School; Shalonda Cooper, English Language Arts teacher at Horace Mann Junior School; Jessica Cotton-Benard, special education - resource/inclusion teacher at Mirabeau B. Lamar Elementary School; Erica Criswell, special education - resource/inclusion teacher at Ross S. Sterling High School; Gisselle Flores, fourth grade teacher at Highlands Elementary School; Cheryl Garrett, transportation supervisor; Tonia Garrett, English Language Arts teacher at Baytown Junior School; Hector Garza, history teacher at Horace Mann Junior School; Adam Gates, history teacher at Baytown Junior School; Andrea Gorney, science teacher at Edward F. Green Junior School; Joshua Hartwell, assistant band director at Goose Creek Memorial High School; Tina Holloway, NAC teacher at Horace Mann Junior School; Julie Jackson, English Language Arts teacher at Highlands Junior School; Amanda James, academic dean at Goose Creek Memorial High School; Scott Matejka, science teacher at Highlands Junior School; Tammy Matejka, English Language Arts teacher at Edward F. Green Junior School; Marguita Maxwell, mathematics teacher at Cedar Bayou Junior School; Daisy McClellan, junior data analyst; Milam Mcmillan, special education – resource/inclusion teacher at Robert E. Lee High School; Doreenthea Mitchell, history teacher at Baytown Junior School; Karen Moore, Title I – teacher and learning coach at Stephen F. Austin Elementary School; Leeshad O'Neal, special education - inclusion teacher/coach at Robert E. Lee High School; Nancy Orellana-Barba, lead counselor at IMPACT Early College High School; Kristen Ortiz, history teacher at Cedar Bayou Junior School; Luis Ortiz, Spanish teacher at George H. Gentry Junior School; Monica Ozuna, science teacher at Cedar Bayou Junior School; Brooke Parker, fifth grade teacher at Stephen F. Austin Elementary School; Sharlene Pryer, speech





BOARD WRAPUP

language pathologist; **Jody Roberts**, history teacher at Ross S. Sterling High School; **Gloria Rodriguez-Rivera**, Spanish teacher at Ross S. Sterling High School; **Jessica Rogers**, special education – inclusion/support teacher at Robert E. Lee High School; **Shanice Steenholdt**, counselor at Horace Mann Junior School; **Elisha Torres**, biology teacher at Robert E. Lee High School; **Adeline Trevizo**, Title I Teaching and Learning Coach; **Lauren Vargas**, special education – Life Skills at San Jacinto Elementary School; **Lauren Weisheit**, special education – resource/inclusion teacher at George H. Gentry Junior School and **Roxanne Wyatt**, career & technical education director.

- Approved administrative elections of Sarah Belval, Special Education Assistive Technology Specialist, Ruby Moulin, counselor at Alamo Elementary and Bridgett Yates, Math Instructional Specialist
- Denied Level III employee grievance regarding police officer employment and deliberation regarding same; deliberation regarding the appointment, evaluation, reassignment, duties, discipline, or dismissal of a public officer or employee.
- Denied Level III GF grievance submitted by Byron Schirmbeck and related actions

FUTURE BOARD MEETING

 The next Regular Board meeting is scheduled for August 7th in the Central Administration Building. All Regular Board meetings are set for <u>6 p.m.</u>

